Get your adverbs here.

did you write this?

Get your adverbs here.

older
� �� new
yeah
profile
������ host ���grace
kill some time kill more
and more still

previosity
��� nextitude

2003-11-20
9:56 p.m.

Someone left this letter in our mailbox the other day, and we don't know who. It had our name on the envelope, and the whole letter was typed. It says:

*****

Tuesday I think

DEAREST LANE,

I have no idea if you will be able to decipher this as the noise in the dorm is absolutely incredible tonight and I can hardly hear myself think. So if I spell anything wrong kindly have the kindness to overlook it. Incidently I've taken your advice and resorted to the dictionary a lot lately, so if it cramps my style your [sic] to blame. Anyway I just got your beautiful letter and I love you to pieces, distraction, etc., and can hardly wait for the weekend. It's too bad about not being able to get me in Croft House, but I don't actually care where I stay as long as it's warm and no bugs and I see you occasionally, i.e. every single minute. I've been going i.e. crazy lately, I absolutely adore your letter, especially the part about Eliot. I think I'm beginning to look down on all the poets except Sappho. I've been reading her like mad, and no vulgar remarks, please. I may even do my term thing on her if I decide to go out for honors and if I can get the moron they assigned me as an advisor to let me. "Delicate Adonis is dying, Cytherea, what shall we do? Beat your breasts, maidens, and rend your tunics." Isn't that marvellous? She keeps doing that, too. Do you love me? You didn't say once in your horrible letter. I hate you when you are being hopelessly super-male and retiscent (sp.?). Not really hate you but am constitutionally against strong, silent men. Not that you aren't strong but you know what I mean. It's getting so noisy in here I can hardly hear myself think. Anyway,I love you and want to get this off special delivery so you can get it in plenty of time if I can find a stamp in this madhouse. I love you I love you I love you. Do you actually knoe [sic] I've only danced with you twice in eleven months? Not counting that time at the Vanguard when you were so tight. I'll probably be hopelessly self conscious. Incidentally I'll kill you if there is a receiving line at this thing. Till Saturday, my flower!All my love, Franny

P.S. Daddy got his x-rays back from the hospital and we're so relieved. It's a growth but it isn't malignant. I spoke to Mother on the phone last night. Incidentally she sent her regards to you so you can relax about Friday night. I don't even think they heard us come in.

P.P.S. I sound so unintelligent and dimwitted when I write to you. Why? I give you my permission to analyze it. Let's just try to have a marvellous time this weekend. I mean not try to analyze everything to death for once, if possible, especially me. I love you.

FRANCES

*****

If you are the one who wrote this and put it in our mailbox, please come forward so I can hug your neck.


You can leave a comment, or you can think it in your head.
0 comments so far

stepha � 2006