Get your adverbs here.

hammerhead theatre

Get your adverbs here.

older
� �� new
yeah
profile
������ host ���grace
kill some time kill more
and more still

previosity
��� nextitude

2007-02-08
9:11 a.m.

I came back from lunch and there was a huge bouquet of roses on a table near HH's desk.

Me: Whose roses are those?

Nurse: They're from Chris's husband, it's their 20th anniversary.

Hammerhead: Dammit! I want roses!

Nurse: You should have been married for 20 years then.

HH: I tried three times. Noooo thank you.

Nurse: You were married three times?

HH: Yup! And the last two were BROTHERS!

*****

The CFO comes to wait for a meeting with our boss.

CFO man: My, what beautiful roses.

Boss: Oh aren't they, they're from my husband, it's our -- [she is brutally interrupted by HH]

HH: THEY'RE MINE! HA HA HA!

Boss: [trying to pretend HH isn't there] Yes, it's our 20th anniv --

HH: THEY'RE FROM MY SECRET ADMIRER! HEEEEEEEEEE! [This time she laughs only by wheezing.]

Boss: [realizing she really needs to escape if she is to maintain any shred of professionalism] So let's go down to the conference room...

HH: ACTUALLY THEY'RE FROM MY *OTHER* SECRET ADMIRER! I HAVE TWO, YOU KNOW! HEEEEEEE!!

*****

Hammerhead turned on marching band music playing Christmas songs and started doing tae-bo.

HH: Looky! I'm getting my blood pumping! [Kick kick, punch punch. We stare in horror.] I did this with the new temp yesterday. We sure had fun! [Kick, punch, quivering of back fat. The aroma of Tacoma rises from her pores.] Stephanie, this is what you need to do if you want to go into labor.

Me: What music is that?

HH: It's a sort of medley!

Me: You should put on your Kathie Lee Gifford CD.

HH: Kathie Lee doesn't ENERGIZE me. GOD.

*****

Bethany: Oh look, a doctor sent the office some Godiva. There's only 12 and there are 12 people in the office so everyone take only one.

HH: Oh you know I can't do that. [She grabs two and puts them both in her mouth.]

Bethany: HH! That's not fair! And you have diabetes! [HH pretends not to hear her. Five minutes later she skulks over to the Godiva box and takes another one.]

Bethany: That's it, HH. I'm putting the box away.

HH: Can I at least have the box when it's empty?

*****

I haven't written about this facet of the wonderment of HH because I thought it wouldn't translate very well, but I can put it off no longer. At least every other day someone will say something to HH and she'll freak out and holler as if someone said boo in a dark hallway. Just now a nurse went up to give her something.

Nurse: Hey, HH...

HH: [jumping a mile] GAAAAAAAA!!!!! DON'T SNEAK UP ON ME LIKE THAT!

Nurse: [exasperated cause this happens all the time] I WASN'T sneaking up on you. You could see me coming.

HH: I just can't handle it!


You can leave a comment, or you can think it in your head.
1 comments so far

stepha � 2006